Juroren

Julie Reiß

Unabhängiger Wissenschaftler und Pädagoge

New York

Julie Reiss ist Kunsthistorikerin mit Schwerpunkt zeitgenössische Kunst, die sich mit der Klimakrise auseinandersetzt. Sie hat auf Panels zu Kunst und Klimawandel gesprochen, darunter „Shifting Domains: Artists Respond to the Threatened Ecological Commons“ (Marfa Ballroom Dialogues, 2013) und „Landscape and Anthropocene“ (College Art Association, 2016). Sie ist Herausgeberin von Art, Theory and Practice in the Anthropocene (2019). 2019 organisierte sie das Symposium „The Role of Art in the Environmental Crisis“ bei Christie’s Education und war Gastkritikerin zum gleichen Thema für The Brooklyn Rail. Als bahnbrechende Gelehrte auf dem Gebiet der Installationskunst ist sie neben zahlreichen Artikeln und Rezensionen auch Autorin von From Margin to Center: The Spaces of Installation Art (1999). Zuvor war sie Direktorin von Modern and Contemporary Art and the Market, einem akkreditierten MA-Programm bei Christie's Education. Reiss unterrichtet Graduierten- und Grundstudiengänge in moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst. Sie hat einen Ph.D. in Kunstgeschichte vom CUNY Graduate Center.

Engel Bellaran

Director of Operations des Masters in Curatorial Practice Program, School of Visual Arts

New York

Angel Bellaran ist Kurator, Aktivist und Director of Operations des Masters in Curatorial Practice-Programms an der School of Visual Arts in New York. Zuvor war sie Direktorin der Grey Gallery an der East Carolina University School of Art and Design. Stolz darauf, eine führende Organisatorin der globalen feministischen Kunstbewegung Nasty Women Exhibition zu sein, ist Bellarans Arbeit von Natur aus intersektional: beeinflusst von einem widersprüchlichen Familienerbe sozialer Gerechtigkeit und beschleunigter Assimilation von Einwanderern mit einem besonderen Fokus auf Gerechtigkeit, Vielfalt, Inklusionsinitiativen, Programmen und Aktivitäten , arbeitet Bellaran mit Einzelpersonen und Institutionen zusammen, um das Bewusstsein, die Zugänglichkeit und die Repräsentation in den Künsten weiter zu fördern, indem es eine erfahrungsgeleitete Kunstweltausbildung mit Schwerpunkt auf kuratorischen Studien nutzt.

Bellaran hat einen Master of Arts in Curation, Visual Arts Practices vom Institute of Art, Design & Technology, Dublin, Irland (2010), und einen Bachelor of Arts in Fine Art von Mason Gross, dem Kunstkonservatorium von Rutgers, The Staatliche Universität von New Jersey (2008). Bellaran, eine Amerikanerin gemischter Rassen in dritter Generation, die an der Küste von New Jersey geboren und zwischen dort und North Carolina aufgewachsen ist, lebt derzeit mit ihrem geretteten Welpen Luna zwischen New York und New Jersey.

Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, Juror für den Wettbewerb zu werden, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter cifac@nyartcompetitions.com.

Liebte die Kunst? Tragen Sie sich in unsere Mailingliste ein, um an zukünftigen Wettbewerben teilzunehmen.

Der nächste Wettbewerb wird bald eröffnet.
Lassen Sie sich zur Teilnahme benachrichtigen.

Jurors

Julie Reiss

Independent Scholar and Educator

New York

Julie Reiss is an art historian with a focus on contemporary art that addresses the climate crisis. She has spoken on panels related to art and climate change including “Shifting Domains: Artists Respond to the Threatened Ecological Commons (Marfa Ballroom Dialogues, 2013), and “Landscape and Anthropocene” (College Art Association, 2016). She is the editor of Art, Theory and Practice in the Anthropocene (2019). In 2019 she organized the symposium “The Role of Art in the Environmental Crisis” held at Christie’s Education, and was the guest critic on the same theme for The Brooklyn Rail. A pioneering scholar in the field of Installation art, she is also the author of From Margin to Center: The Spaces of Installation Art (1999), in addition to numerous articles and reviews. She was previously the director of Modern and Contemporary Art and the Market, an accredited MA program at Christie’s Education. Reiss teaches graduate and undergraduate courses modern and contemporary art. She holds a Ph.D. in Art History from the CUNY Graduate Center.

Angel Bellaran

Director of Operations of the Masters in Curatorial Practice Program, School of Visual Arts

New York

Angel Bellaran is a curator, activist, and the Director of Operations of the Masters in Curatorial Practice program at the School of Visual Arts in New York. Previously, she served as the Director of the Gray Gallery at East Carolina University School of Art and Design. Proud to be a lead organizer of the global feminist art movement Nasty Women Exhibition, Bellaran’s work is inherently intersectional: influenced by a conflicting family legacy of social justice and accelerated immigrant assimilation with a specific focus on equity, diversity, inclusion initiatives, programs and activities, Bellaran collaborates with individuals and institutions to further promote awareness, accessibility and representation in the arts, utilizing experience-led art world education with an emphasis on curatorial studies.

Bellaran holds a Master of Arts degree in Curation, Visual Arts Practices from the Institute of Art, Design & Technology, Dublin, Ireland (2010), and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Fine Art from Mason Gross, the arts conservatory of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (2008). A third-generation mixed-race American, born at the shore in New Jersey and raised between there and North Carolina, Bellaran currently resides between New York and New Jersey with her rescue pup, Luna.

If you are interested in becoming a juror for the competition, please contact us at cifac@nyartcompetitions.com.

Loved the art? Join our mailing list to enter future competitions.

The next competition will open soon.
Get notified to participate.