Les jurés

Julie Reiss

Chercheur et éducateur indépendant

New York

Julie Reiss est une historienne de l'art spécialisée dans l'art contemporain qui aborde la crise climatique. Elle a pris la parole lors de panels liés à l'art et au changement climatique, notamment "Shifting Domains: Artists Respond to the Threatened Ecological Commons (Marfa Ballroom Dialogues, 2013) et "Landscape and Anthropocene" (College Art Association, 2016). Elle est rédactrice en chef de Art, Theory and Practice in the Anthropocene (2019). En 2019, elle a organisé le symposium « The Role of Art in the Environmental Crisis » qui s'est tenu chez Christie's Education, et a été critique invitée sur le même thème pour The Brooklyn Rail. Pionnière dans le domaine de l'art de l'installation, elle est également l'auteur de From Margin to Center: The Spaces of Installation Art (1999), en plus de nombreux articles et critiques. Elle était auparavant directrice de l'art moderne et contemporain et du marché, un programme de maîtrise accrédité à Christie's Education. Reiss enseigne l'art moderne et contemporain aux cycles supérieurs et au premier cycle. Elle est titulaire d'un doctorat. en histoire de l'art du CUNY Graduate Center.

Ange Bellaran

Directrice des opérations du programme de maîtrise en pratique curatoriale, École des arts visuels

New York

Angel Bellaran est conservateur, activiste et directeur des opérations du programme de maîtrise en pratiques curatoriales à la School of Visual Arts de New York. Auparavant, elle a été directrice de la Grey Gallery de l'East Carolina University School of Art and Design. Fière d'être l'une des principales organisatrices du mouvement artistique féministe mondial Nasty Women Exhibition, le travail de Bellaran est intrinsèquement intersectionnel : influencé par un héritage familial conflictuel de justice sociale et d'assimilation accélérée des immigrants avec un accent particulier sur l'équité, la diversité, les initiatives d'inclusion, les programmes et les activités. , Bellaran collabore avec des individus et des institutions pour promouvoir davantage la sensibilisation, l'accessibilité et la représentation dans les arts, en utilisant une éducation au monde de l'art axée sur l'expérience en mettant l'accent sur les études de conservation.

Bellaran est titulaire d'une maîtrise ès arts en conservation, pratiques des arts visuels de l'Institute of Art, Design & Technology, Dublin, Irlande (2010), et d'un baccalauréat ès arts en beaux-arts de Mason Gross, le conservatoire des arts de Rutgers, The Université d'État du New Jersey (2008). Américaine métisse de troisième génération, née sur la côte du New Jersey et élevée entre là-bas et la Caroline du Nord, Bellaran réside actuellement entre New York et le New Jersey avec son chiot de sauvetage, Luna.

Si vous souhaitez devenir juré pour le concours, veuillez nous contacter au cifac@nyartcompetitions.com.

Aimé l'art? Inscrivez-vous à notre liste de diffusion pour participer à de futurs concours.

Le prochain concours ouvrira bientôt.
Soyez notifié pour participer.

Jurors

Julie Reiss

Independent Scholar and Educator

New York

Julie Reiss is an art historian with a focus on contemporary art that addresses the climate crisis. She has spoken on panels related to art and climate change including “Shifting Domains: Artists Respond to the Threatened Ecological Commons (Marfa Ballroom Dialogues, 2013), and “Landscape and Anthropocene” (College Art Association, 2016). She is the editor of Art, Theory and Practice in the Anthropocene (2019). In 2019 she organized the symposium “The Role of Art in the Environmental Crisis” held at Christie’s Education, and was the guest critic on the same theme for The Brooklyn Rail. A pioneering scholar in the field of Installation art, she is also the author of From Margin to Center: The Spaces of Installation Art (1999), in addition to numerous articles and reviews. She was previously the director of Modern and Contemporary Art and the Market, an accredited MA program at Christie’s Education. Reiss teaches graduate and undergraduate courses modern and contemporary art. She holds a Ph.D. in Art History from the CUNY Graduate Center.

Angel Bellaran

Director of Operations of the Masters in Curatorial Practice Program, School of Visual Arts

New York

Angel Bellaran is a curator, activist, and the Director of Operations of the Masters in Curatorial Practice program at the School of Visual Arts in New York. Previously, she served as the Director of the Gray Gallery at East Carolina University School of Art and Design. Proud to be a lead organizer of the global feminist art movement Nasty Women Exhibition, Bellaran’s work is inherently intersectional: influenced by a conflicting family legacy of social justice and accelerated immigrant assimilation with a specific focus on equity, diversity, inclusion initiatives, programs and activities, Bellaran collaborates with individuals and institutions to further promote awareness, accessibility and representation in the arts, utilizing experience-led art world education with an emphasis on curatorial studies.

Bellaran holds a Master of Arts degree in Curation, Visual Arts Practices from the Institute of Art, Design & Technology, Dublin, Ireland (2010), and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Fine Art from Mason Gross, the arts conservatory of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (2008). A third-generation mixed-race American, born at the shore in New Jersey and raised between there and North Carolina, Bellaran currently resides between New York and New Jersey with her rescue pup, Luna.

If you are interested in becoming a juror for the competition, please contact us at cifac@nyartcompetitions.com.

Loved the art? Join our mailing list to enter future competitions.

The next competition will open soon.
Get notified to participate.