LE CONCOURS EST FERME

Les jurés

Ange Bellaran

directeur des opérations du programme de maîtrise en pratique curatoriale,
École d'arts visuels

New York

Angel Bellaran est conservateur, activiste et directeur des opérations du programme de maîtrise en pratique de la conservation à la School of Visual Arts de New York. Auparavant, elle a été directrice de la Grey Gallery de la East Carolina University School of Art and Design. Fière d'être une organisatrice principale du mouvement artistique féministe mondial Nasty Women Exhibition, le travail de Bellaran est intrinsèquement intersectionnel: influencé par un héritage familial conflictuel de justice sociale et une assimilation accélérée des immigrants avec un accent particulier sur l'équité, la diversité, les initiatives, les programmes et les activités d'inclusion , Bellaran collabore avec des individus et des institutions pour promouvoir davantage la sensibilisation, l'accessibilité et la représentation dans les arts, en utilisant une éducation au monde de l'art fondée sur l'expérience, en mettant l'accent sur les études de conservation.

Bellaran est titulaire d'une maîtrise ès arts en conservation, pratiques en arts visuels de l'Institute of Art, Design & Technology, Dublin, Irlande (2010), et d'un baccalauréat ès arts en beaux-arts de Mason Gross, le conservatoire des arts de Rutgers, The Université d'État du New Jersey (2008). Américaine métisse de troisième génération, née sur la côte du New Jersey et élevée entre cette ville et la Caroline du Nord, Bellaran réside actuellement entre New York et New Jersey avec son chiot de sauvetage, Luna.

David Ayala-Alfonso

Conservateur, artiste et éditeur

Colombie

David Ayala-Alfonso est un conservateur et artiste colombien travaillant entre Mexico, Bogotá et Londres. Il est commissaire invité au programme d'expositions itinérantes d'Independent Curators International et fait partie des équipes éditoriales du Journal of Visual Culture et de {{em_rgencia}. Ayala-Alfonso a publié des livres et des articles sur la théorie des interfaces, l'histoire de l'art latino-américain, les espaces gérés par des artistes, les études de performance, les études visuelles, la sociologie urbaine, l'anthropologie de l'éducation et les interventions artistiques dans le domaine public.

Il est également collaborateur occasionnel pour différentes publications académiques en tant qu'écrivain et traducteur. Des travaux récents en tant que conservateur et dans le cadre du collectif d'art Grupo 0,29 ont été présentés au Eli & Edythe Broad Museum, Museos de Arte au Banco de la República à Bogotá, South London Gallery, le David Rockefeller Center de l'Université Harvard, le BMW Guggenheim Lab, l'Université Concordia de Montréal, le Columbia College de Chicago et le Centro Cultural La Moneda de Santiago. Il a reçu la bourse Fulbright, la bourse d'enseignement post-universitaire de l'AICAD, le prix ICI-Dedalus pour la recherche curatoriale et la subvention de concept précoce pour la recherche exploratoire à SAIC. Ayala-Alfonso est titulaire d'une maîtrise en études visuelles et critiques de la School of the Art Institute of Chicago et d'une spécialisation en éducation artistique de l'Université nationale de Colombie, et prépare des publications sur le patrimoine critique et l'art dans le domaine public à paraître. en 2020.

Si vous souhaitez devenir juré pour le concours, veuillez nous contacter au latam@nyartcompetitions.com.

Joignez-vous à notre liste d'envoi

Jurors

Angel Bellaran

Director of Operations of the Masters in
Curatorial Practice Program,
School of Visual Arts

New York

Angel Bellaran is a curator, activist, and the Director of Operations of the Masters in Curatorial Practice program at the School of Visual Arts in New York. Previously, she served as the Director of the Gray Gallery at East Carolina University School of Art and Design. Proud to be a lead organizer of the global feminist art movement Nasty Women Exhibition, Bellaran’s work is inherently intersectional: influenced by a conflicting family legacy of social justice and accelerated immigrant assimilation with a specific focus on equity, diversity, inclusion initiatives, programs and activities, Bellaran collaborates with individuals and institutions to further promote awareness, accessibility and representation in the arts, utilizing experience-led art world education with an emphasis on curatorial studies.

Bellaran holds a Master of Arts degree in Curation, Visual Arts Practices from the Institute of Art, Design & Technology, Dublin, Ireland (2010), and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Fine Art from Mason Gross, the arts conservatory of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (2008). A third-generation mixed-race American, born at the shore in New Jersey and raised between there and North Carolina, Bellaran currently resides between New York and New Jersey with her rescue pup, Luna.

David Ayala-Alfonso

Curator, Artist, and Editor

Colombia

David Ayala-Alfonso is a Colombian curator and artist working between Mexico City, Bogotá and London. He is a guest curator at the traveling exhibitions program of Independent Curators International, and part of the editorial teams of Journal of Visual Culture and {{em_rgencia}. Ayala-Alfonso has published books and articles on interface theory, Latin American art history, artist-run spaces, performance studies, visual studies, urban sociology, anthropology of education and artistic interventions in the public realm.

He is also an occasional collaborator for different academic publications as a writer and a translator. Recent work as a curator and as part of the art collective Grupo 0,29 has been featured at the Eli & Edythe Broad Museum, Museos de Arte at Banco de la República in Bogotá, South London Gallery, the David Rockefeller Center at Harvard University, the BMW Guggenheim Lab, Concordia University in Montreal, Columbia College in Chicago, and Centro Cultural La Moneda in Santiago. He has been awarded the Fulbright Grant, the AICAD post-graduate Teaching Fellowship, the ICI-Dedalus Award for Curatorial Research and the Early-concept Grant for Exploratory Research at SAIC. Ayala-Alfonso holds a MA in Visual and Critical Studies from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and a Specialization in Art Education from the National University of Colombia, and is preparing publications on critical heritage, and art in the public realm to be released in 2020.

If you are interested in becoming a juror for the competition, please contact us at latam@nyartcompetitions.com.

Competition Calendar

Art submitted to the competition will be reviewed by a rotating panel of expert jurors, each representing a different field in the art world, ensuring a fair and balanced selection process.
Opens
AUG 2020
4th
Deadline
JAN 2021
12th
Results
FEB 2021
16th
Exhibition
AUG 2021
10-19

Join Our Mailing List

Font Resize
Contrast