WETTBEWERB IST GESCHLOSSEN

Juroren

Engel Bellaran

Betriebsleiter des Masters in Curatorial Practice Program,
Schule der bildenden Künste

New York

Angel Bellaran ist Kurator, Aktivist und Director of Operations des Masters in Curatorial Practice-Programms an der School of Visual Arts in New York. Zuvor war sie Direktorin der Gray Gallery an der Kunst- und Designschule der East Carolina University. Bellarans Arbeit ist stolz darauf, eine der Hauptorganisatoren der globalen feministischen Kunstbewegung Nasty Women Exhibition zu sein. Sie ist von Natur aus intersektionell: beeinflusst von einem widersprüchlichen familiären Erbe sozialer Gerechtigkeit und einer beschleunigten Assimilation von Einwanderern mit einem besonderen Schwerpunkt auf Gerechtigkeit, Vielfalt, Inklusionsinitiativen, Programmen und Aktivitäten Bellaran arbeitet mit Einzelpersonen und Institutionen zusammen, um das Bewusstsein, die Zugänglichkeit und die Repräsentation in den Künsten weiter zu fördern. Dabei wird erfahrungsorientierte Bildung in der Kunstwelt mit Schwerpunkt auf kuratorischen Studien genutzt.

Bellaran hat einen Master of Arts in Kuration, Visual Arts Practices vom Institut für Kunst, Design und Technologie, Dublin, Irland (2010) und einen Bachelor of Arts in Bildender Kunst von Mason Gross, dem Kunstkonservatorium von Rutgers, The Staatliche Universität von New Jersey (2008). Bellaran ist eine Amerikanerin der dritten Generation mit gemischten Rassen, die am Ufer in New Jersey geboren und zwischen dort und North Carolina aufgewachsen ist. Derzeit lebt sie mit ihrem Rettungswelpen Luna zwischen New York und New Jersey.

David Ayala-Alfonso

Kurator, Künstler und Herausgeber

Kolumbien

David Ayala-Alfonso ist ein kolumbianischer Kurator und Künstler, der zwischen Mexiko-Stadt, Bogotá und London arbeitet. Er ist Gastkurator beim Wanderausstellungsprogramm von Independent Curators International und Teil der Redaktion von Journal of Visual Culture und {{em_rgencia}. Ayala-Alfonso hat Bücher und Artikel über Schnittstellentheorie, lateinamerikanische Kunstgeschichte, von Künstlern geführte Räume, Performance-Studien, visuelle Studien, Stadtsoziologie, Anthropologie der Bildung und künstlerische Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum veröffentlicht.

Er ist auch ein gelegentlicher Mitarbeiter für verschiedene akademische Veröffentlichungen als Schriftsteller und Übersetzer. Jüngste Arbeiten als Kurator und als Teil des Kunstkollektivs Grupo 0,29 wurden im Eli & Edythe Broad Museum, im Museos de Arte der Banco de la República in Bogotá, in der South London Gallery und im David Rockefeller Center der Harvard University gezeigt. das BMW Guggenheim Lab, die Concordia Universität in Montreal, das Columbia College in Chicago und das Centro Cultural La Moneda in Santiago. Er wurde mit dem Fulbright-Stipendium, dem AICAD-Postgraduierten-Lehrstipendium, dem ICI-Dedalus-Preis für kuratorische Forschung und dem Frühkonzept-Stipendium für explorative Forschung an der SAIC ausgezeichnet. Ayala-Alfonso hat einen MA in visuellen und kritischen Studien von der School of Art Institute in Chicago und eine Spezialisierung in Kunsterziehung von der National University of Colombia und bereitet Veröffentlichungen zu kritischem Erbe und Kunst im öffentlichen Raum vor, die veröffentlicht werden sollen im Jahr 2020.

Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, Juror für den Wettbewerb zu werden, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter latam@nyartcompetitions.com.

Treten Sie unserer Mailingliste bei

Jurors

Angel Bellaran

Director of Operations of the Masters in
Curatorial Practice Program,
School of Visual Arts

New York

Angel Bellaran is a curator, activist, and the Director of Operations of the Masters in Curatorial Practice program at the School of Visual Arts in New York. Previously, she served as the Director of the Gray Gallery at East Carolina University School of Art and Design. Proud to be a lead organizer of the global feminist art movement Nasty Women Exhibition, Bellaran’s work is inherently intersectional: influenced by a conflicting family legacy of social justice and accelerated immigrant assimilation with a specific focus on equity, diversity, inclusion initiatives, programs and activities, Bellaran collaborates with individuals and institutions to further promote awareness, accessibility and representation in the arts, utilizing experience-led art world education with an emphasis on curatorial studies.

Bellaran holds a Master of Arts degree in Curation, Visual Arts Practices from the Institute of Art, Design & Technology, Dublin, Ireland (2010), and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Fine Art from Mason Gross, the arts conservatory of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (2008). A third-generation mixed-race American, born at the shore in New Jersey and raised between there and North Carolina, Bellaran currently resides between New York and New Jersey with her rescue pup, Luna.

David Ayala-Alfonso

Curator, Artist, and Editor

Colombia

David Ayala-Alfonso is a Colombian curator and artist working between Mexico City, Bogotá and London. He is a guest curator at the traveling exhibitions program of Independent Curators International, and part of the editorial teams of Journal of Visual Culture and {{em_rgencia}. Ayala-Alfonso has published books and articles on interface theory, Latin American art history, artist-run spaces, performance studies, visual studies, urban sociology, anthropology of education and artistic interventions in the public realm.

He is also an occasional collaborator for different academic publications as a writer and a translator. Recent work as a curator and as part of the art collective Grupo 0,29 has been featured at the Eli & Edythe Broad Museum, Museos de Arte at Banco de la República in Bogotá, South London Gallery, the David Rockefeller Center at Harvard University, the BMW Guggenheim Lab, Concordia University in Montreal, Columbia College in Chicago, and Centro Cultural La Moneda in Santiago. He has been awarded the Fulbright Grant, the AICAD post-graduate Teaching Fellowship, the ICI-Dedalus Award for Curatorial Research and the Early-concept Grant for Exploratory Research at SAIC. Ayala-Alfonso holds a MA in Visual and Critical Studies from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and a Specialization in Art Education from the National University of Colombia, and is preparing publications on critical heritage, and art in the public realm to be released in 2020.

If you are interested in becoming a juror for the competition, please contact us at latam@nyartcompetitions.com.

Competition Calendar

Art submitted to the competition will be reviewed by a rotating panel of expert jurors, each representing a different field in the art world, ensuring a fair and balanced selection process.
Opens
AUG 2020
4th
Deadline
JAN 2021
12th
Results
FEB 2021
16th
Exhibition
AUG 2021
10-19

Join Our Mailing List

Font Resize
Contrast